The Skin

April 20, 2007

Why Skin Gmail?

Gmail is an amazing email service, its by far the best email service that I’ve come across. The only thing I’m not happy about Gmail is the way it looks. Google guys have done beautiful stuff like Picasa, but Gmail has remained pretty much the same. So, I made “Gmail Super Clean” a simple little skin for Gmail, using Greasemonkey.

The SkinGmail Super Clean Skin

Gmail Super Clean was made to simplify the way Gmail looks. It’s got quite a few customization options. You can change the logo, fonts, show/hide ads etc using the User script commands on Greasemonkey. I posted this script on userscripts.org, and I’m happy to see that the script has had more than 25,000 installs there (thanks people :)). Besides I’ve been getting quite a lot of emails suggesting ideas/bugs and tips to improve this skin. So, I made this blog is dedicated to this skin, and I’ll try to keep it updated and improve it. If you have comments or new ideas for this skin or bug reports then please do post it here, and I’ll try my best to do something about it.

You can download the Gmail Super Clean script here

41 Responses to “The Skin”

  1. Ron Says:

    Great work. You made my Friday!

  2. Michael Says:

    Wow, I absolutely love this script. Any plans to do the same for Google Reader and/or other Google apps?

    Keep up the great work.

  3. atoms Says:

    I LOVE this skin. Thank you so much. I do have one enhancement request.

    I occasionally need to see the complete source of emails. The “Show Original” option under Gmail’s original Reply-> dropdown is no longer available in the SuperClean view. The whole dropdown is gone.

    So it would great if I could have access to that command without turning off the SuperClean.

    I do realize that if everyone’s favorite little feature gets re-added that eventually SuperClean will be JustAsClutteredAsTheOriginal and rendered useless. So if my request is contrary to the spirit of SuperClean, please ignore it.

    But don’t ignore my gratitude and praise.

  4. Zaigham Says:

    Very nice work!
    Thanks a ton for it!

  5. Dan Says:

    Ganesh, this is an awesome script. It’s going to make using Gamil a lot more pleasant. I love all the options, there’s only one thing I would add though. Could you add an option for text size? The text in Gmail Super Clean is just a little too small for me.

    Thanks again for the great work!

  6. Kelly Says:

    Thanks for doing this. It looks great. I love it.


  7. […] feststelle, werde ich den Script wohl installiert lassen. Der Entwickler hat inzwischen auch ein Blog für Gmail Super Clean […]

  8. Nick Says:

    I’m sorry, but I am a little confused. How do I install this? When I click on the link, it just gives me the the actual coding. What do I do with this? It might help you if I say that I run Mac. Thanks.

  9. Sinead Says:

    G-Mail? I think I might use g-mail. This will be interesting..

  10. FedericoX Says:

    Este skin no es compatible con la mas reciente version de http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/7997

    Muy bueno felicitaciones!

  11. Chris Says:

    Just superb!

    By the way.. which Firefox-Skin do you use on the screenshot? It’s very nice too.


  12. The windows skin in the screen shot is “Royale Vista” get it here http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/25495627/


  13. […] Two: *Version 1.44 of Mailplane now supports custom stylesheets. I adapted the greasemonkey script, Gmail superclean for […]


  14. […] wird dies mittels Greasemonkey für Firefox und dem Gmail Super Clean Script. Das Blog zum Skin findet man hier. Und direkter geht es hier weiter. Ich finde es […]

  15. techlistener Says:

    Hello,

    Great skin, awesome. No complaints, just an idea.

    It would be great if a user could turn off some of the shading effect (background colour). The shading at the top of the Gmail (not in the email messages themselves) does not look very good in my browser (firefox).

    It would be then even super cleaner.

    I realize some would like that and others would not so it makes sense to have it is an option that could be turned off or on. If there is a way to do that by editing the script I do not know how to do it. I am not a programmer.

    Thanks, great work.

  16. ricardo couto Says:

    do you think you can add support to external css? so people can put their css in their own server and the script use it to render the gmail?

  17. 0xcafe Says:


    Wow!

    Please do the same thing with Google Reader, this is so amazing !!!! I don’t know what to say!

    Thanks, awesome work!

  18. Grant Says:

    love it – a keeper without doubt – but what about my clunky old gcal’
    Now that would be nice!!

  19. Stibily Says:

    Great work ~ the name lives up to its expectations! One thing though…

    In the CSS, where’s the property that determines the column width of the sender? Just feel like its a little too tight for my likening.

    Many thanks,
    Tom.

  20. Mark Says:

    +1 to the please create one for google reader suggestions.


  21. […] wird dies mittels Greasemonkey für Firefox und dem Gmail Super Clean Script. Das Blog zum Skin findet man hier. Und direkter geht es hier weiter. Ich finde es […]

  22. Deni Says:

    All I can say is… great job!

  23. mayank Says:

    pls upload the script elsewhere also as userscripts is down.

  24. ozgur Says:

    hey Ganesh,
    great work and effort !

    I just wanted to post a ‘bug’ regarding to the text color and highlight color features of compose email. The scenario is once you open “Compose Mail”screen and begin typing your message and then save it as a draft, then close it and open the same mail from “Drafts”, these two features become invisible although you see the grid is open and working. It is also the same case for font and font size menus.

    I hope this bug report will help you to locate and solve the problem.

    keep up the good work, thanks.
    ozgur

  25. Kenneth Says:

    Nice skin, but I can’t read SMS/MMS text on my Gmail account. GSyncs (www.psiloc.com) allows to backup and store sent and received SMS/MMS messages from my mobilephone to my Gmail account in a very convenient way. Very useful and I don’t need to think when I delete SMS/MMS on my phone. It’s all in my gmail.

  26. bob Says:

    GREAT skin!
    i’m just having some trouble with logo….i’m trying o change the logo and can not figure out how to do it?….in the photo i see u have an option Tools->Grase monkey->User script commands->change custom logo url
    but i don’t have user script commands enabled??why s that??Please help me with that….

  27. Alex Says:

    you have to be in gMail when you do it

  28. Idetrorce Says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  29. acap1066 Says:

    Please update the scripts for this wonderful skin to work with the Newer Gmail version that was released a while back. I would like to take full advantage of the Better Gmail 2 Add-on for Firefox. I love the Super Clean skin that works with the old Gmail.

  30. fan Says:

    please update for the new gmail!

  31. Jens Says:

    sehr Interessante Texte und sehr hilfreiche. macht weiter so

  32. Coach Hire Says:

    Hello. I think you are eactly thinking like Sukrat. I really loved the post.

  33. Kamal Harit Says:

    please change skin


  34. This is quite a up-to-date info. I think I’ll share it on Digg.

  35. Wade Martinelli Says:

    Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…


  36. Great post full of useful tips! My site is fairly new and I am also having a hard time getting my readers to leave comments. Analytics shows they are coming to the site but I have a feeling “nobody wants to be first”.


  37. Thanks, I’ll keep reading and recommending your words!


  38. powerful luck as end users

  39. Schedule Says:

    Maybe you should make changes to the post name The Skin Gmail Super Clean to something more catching for your subject you write. I liked the blog post nevertheless.

  40. best deals Says:

    I think this is among the most significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  41. Marcella Says:

    Because the admin of this site is working, no uncertainty
    very shortly it will be well-known, due to its quality contents.


Leave a Reply

